Laboratory Safety Committee


This committees plays an extremely important role in promoting the mission of the University by overseeing the laboratory safety of the Yale community. More specifically, the Committee advises the President, the Provost, and the Director of Environmental Health and Safety on policy matters relating to laboratory activities not within the purview of the Institutional Biosafety and Radiation Safety Committees; serves as the University’s Chemical Hygiene Committee for the OSHA Laboratory Standard; assesses the adequacy of existing training and other protections related to laboratory activities; and ensures the University’s compliance with federal and state regulations and University policies regarding laboratory activities.

Committee Members:

  • Ronald Breaker
  • Judy Cha
  • Lisa D’Angelo
  • Patrick Gallagher
  • Nilay Hazari
  • Christopher Incarvito
  • Jaehong Kim
  • Cathleen King
  • Diane Krause
  • Jane Merkel
  • Claudia Merson
  • Scott Miller
  • Ruth Montgomery
  • Nabeel Nabulsi
  • Peter Reinhardt
  • Cynthia Smith
  • Dorothyann Van Rhijn