## Dear Colleagues,

It is our pleasure to announce the formation of an ad hoc committee that will look at faculty input in the Faculty of Arts and Sciences. This group was convened with the goal of better understanding the mechanisms in place for faculty input at other institutions and considering the possible approaches that could be effective here.

This committee is charged with assessing FAS faculty input at other institutions—e.g., senates, planning committees—to see what works well and what works less well. The committee will reflect on how we do things at Yale currently, and on the effectiveness of the various mechanisms currently in place. Of particular concern will be the tradeoff between such mechanisms and the burden on department chairs and other faculty.

The committee will be asked to produce a short report on the pros and cons of possible approaches that could be taken at Yale, to offer recommendations for potentially effective models to consider, and to outline the next steps necessary to move forward on each possible approach.

We are grateful to the six FAS faculty members who have agreed to take on this important charge:

Steven Wilkinson, the Nilekani Professor of Indian and South Asian Studies (Chair)

Michael Della Rocca, the Andrew Downey Orrick Professor of Philosophy

Beverly Gage, Professor of History

Catherine Panter-Brick, Professor of Anthropology, Health, and Global Affairs

Anna Pyle, the William Edward Gilbert Professor of Molecular, Cellular, & Developmental Biology, and Professor of Chemistry

Mark Saltzman, the Goizueta Foundation Professor of Chemical and Biomedical Engineering, and Chair of Biomedical Engineering

As the committee members begin their work, we encourage you to share your feedback with any of them directly, or to e-mail a comment to the group using the form that is online at <a href="http://provost.yale.edu/fas-faculty-input-feedback">http://provost.yale.edu/fas-faculty-input-feedback</a>. And as always, we hope that you also will not hesitate to write to either of us directly to share your ideas, questions, suggestions, or concerns.

Sincerely,

President-Elect Chris Argyris Professor of Psychology Provost William C. Brainard Professor of Economics