From:	Ben Polak, Provost <provost@yale.edu></provost@yale.edu>
Sent:	Thursday, January 22, 2015 12:08 PM
То:	FAS Ladder Faculty
Subject:	Appointment of a committee to review FASTAP

In 2005 Provost Andy Hamilton appointed a committee chaired by the deans of the Graduate School of Arts and Sciences (Jon Butler) and Yale College (Peter Salovey) to review the policies and procedures relating to tenure and appointments in the Faculty of Arts and Sciences. The committee included the four FAS divisional directors and three additional tenured members of the FAS faculty. The recommendations of its *Report of the Faculty of Arts and Sciences Tenure and Appointments Policy Committee* (commonly known as "FASTAP") were adopted in spring 2007, establishing the procedures and standards for promotion and tenure that are currently in effect in the FAS.

The 2005 committee was the fourth in roughly as many decades to consider FAS appointment, promotion, and tenure processes. Nearly ten years have passed since its recommendations went into effect. Both Yale and the world have seen substantial changes in that time: in the governance structure of the university; in the demographics of the professoriate and of our student body; in the appointment, promotion, and tenure policies and patterns at other American and international universities; and in the social and economic climate of the nation and the world.

What has not changed is the importance of the processes governed by FASTAP to the well being of Yale as an institution. I am therefore appointing a committee to review the tenure and appointment processes in the Faculty of Arts and Sciences with an expectation that it will report to the faculty in May of this year. This committee will be chaired by Dean Tamar Gendler and will include the divisional directors and five other tenured members of the FAS faculty. Several of the professional schools have adopted or adapted FASTAP standards as their model, so I have also asked the deans of the Divinity School and the School of Forestry & Environmental Studies to join the committee.

The committee's members are listed at the bottom of this email. Their charge will be to articulate a process and set of standards for ladder faculty appointments, promotions, and tenure that will secure Yale's continuing place in the world wide intellectual community as a leader in the creation, preservation, and dissemination of knowledge. Each of these colleagues is an exceptional teacher, a renowned scholar, and an exemplary university citizen. Together they constitute a committee of extraordinary depth, commitment, breadth, and accomplishment. But they will not be able to accomplish their work alone: they will draw on insights from colleagues both within and beyond the Yale community. Here on campus, the FAS faculty will have a wide range of opportunities, formal and informal, to offer the committee their advice and information. Conversations with faculty and administrators at other universities will provide additional context and perspective in assessing our own needs, opportunities, and goals.

I look forward to working with this committee in the coming months. I am certain that the insights and discussion sparked by its work will be of great interest to all of us, and I am eager to read the report that it will present to the faculty this spring.

Members of the Committee to Review FASTAP

Richard Bribiescas; Deputy Provost for Faculty Development and Diversity; Professor of Anthropology)

Peter Crane; Carl W. Knobloch Jr. Dean of the School of Forestry & Environmental Studies; Professor, School of Forestry & Environmental Studies; Professor of Ecology & Evolutionary Biology and Geology & Geophysics

Tamar Szabó Gendler (*chair*); Dean of the Faculty of Arts and Sciences; Vincent J. Scully Professor of Philosophy; Professor of Psychology and Cognitive Science

Alan Gerber; Social Science Divisional Director; Chair of the Social Sciences Advisory Committee; Charles C. & Dorathea S. Dilley Professor of Political Science; Professor, School of Public Health, Institution for Social and Policy Studies and Cowles Foundation

Amy Hungerford; Humanities Divisional Director; Chair of the Humanities Advisory Committee; Professor of English and American Studies; Master of Morse College

Naomi Lamoreaux; Chair of the Department of History; Stanley B. Resor Professor of Economics and History

Kathryn Lofton; Chair of the Program in Women's, Gendler and Sexuality Studies; Professor of History, Religious Studies, and American Studies

Scott Miller; Science Divisional Director-Designate; Chair of the Physical Sciences Advisory Committee-Designate; Chair of the Department of Chemistry; Irénée du Pont Professor of Chemistry

Anna Marie Pyle\*; William Edward Gilbert Professor of Molecular, Cellular & Developmental Biology; Investigator Howard Hughes Medical Institute; Professor of Chemistry

Greg Sterling; Reverend Henry L. Slack Dean of the Yale Divinity School; Lillian Claus Professor of New Testament; Professor of Religious Studies

T. Kyle Vanderlick; Dean of the School of Engineering & Applied Science; Thomas E. Golden, Jr. Professor of Chemical & Environmental Engineering

\*member of the 2005 FASTAP committee